dust

11800514_1058492120828852_6566802562356328941_n
nevermind the dust
blowing in every direction

if you can take a breath
even if only for one moment,
you are alive
*
i graduated from eighth grade
my first kiss, a dare i chose
in a gazebo
on an early summer night

quickly, i touched my lips to his
in the middle of a circle of
eyes watching
*
the next morning
on the flight to Denver
my walkman in my lap
forehead pressed to the window

all i remember from the night before
is the rhythm of my knees shaking
in anticipation

curious
*
the snow-capped mountains
are grand in their majesty,
i learned to say

always in the distance
and my mother can’t stop sighing
in the face of their majesty

but their jagged, rocky edges
viewed from the highway
bring me no peace of mind
*
we drive south,
my mom, my sister, and i

there, the wind is sandy and strong
it pelts every inch of our skin
stinging
*
that night, the man in the campsite next to ours
has a tiny pup-tent set up,
but he decides to sleep under the stars

a salsa song travels through the
calm night wind
from a lonely bar down the road

i lay awake for hours, eyes open wide
my sister and mother sleeping soundly
on either side of me

i realize
for the first time
how much space I need
*
i awoke in that strange valley
and many years later, I call it home

space, here, is endless
in the cloudless blue sky
in the untouched fields of kochia
in the spring winds that coat my skin
with sand

but nevermind the dust
blowing in every direction

if you can take a breath
even if only for one moment,
you are alive

11889685_1066906959987368_7672297255008025855_n

-A

Author: City Sister and Mountain Mama

Lindsey and Autumn of citysistermountainmama.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “dust”

  1. Reblogged this on Josie Setzler and commented:
    My cameo role in my daughter’s poem shows me mostly asleep. It’s a joy to be awakened by the poem itself! If anyone needs to know, she really did return to that place to live, nine years later as an Americorps volunteer who helped valley residents grow vegetables in the fertile dust.

    Like

Leave a Reply

