from the side of beartooth highway

11960016_1074022202609177_6464282050232347089_n

look for me
i am the girl who is driving a white ’96 oldesmobile across the country
with the unwashed hair, tied back in a red bandana
i carry rope, to teach myself knots
a pocket knife, because it makes me feel able

look for me in the woods, humming a John Denver tune
or under a tree somewhere, just pulled off the road
my face buried deep in this journal,
my mind pumping out words that my left hand anxiously tries to keep up with

look for me, somewhere between innocence and adulthood
the worry lines still faint across my forehead

look for me, as i stake out my independence at a furious pace
as i stumble through what it means to be alone
as i am silent, or listening, or rolling my eyes

the dirt under my nails comes from digging

look for me
as i try
to uncover
my truth

12368973_1129037390440991_5018536352205255176_n

-A

Author: City Sister and Mountain Mama

Lindsey and Autumn of citysistermountainmama.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

